Pattaya-Revealed.com : Members Forum : Pattaya Newbies Section : Internet banking in Thailand

Reply
 
Thread ToolsSpacer Display Modes Spacer
Old 04-08-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
soi 2

Advanced Member
 
soi 2's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
'Now I in my loom'
Posts:
3,558
Shouts:
11018
Thanks:
4,693

Rep Power:
soi 2 is on a distinguished road
Default Internet banking in Thailand

I've bought a notebook pc and was planning on accessing my main UK bank account when I'm on holiday. I've never done this before and just been having a think. My question is -

Should I contact my bank to let them know I'll be doing this from Thailand ? Will a Thai ISP set the alarm bells going ?

I don't want any security problems that might cause problems with me accessing my cash.

Thanks.
__________________
rak sanook
soi 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:26 AM   #2
monkeyspanker

Sexual Tyrannosaurus
 
monkeyspanker's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
Mo`s Taven
Posts:
2,561
Shouts:
3546
Thanks:
2,996

Rep Power:
monkeyspanker is on a distinguished road
Default

Never had as any probs from overseas as the setup is secure
I have a natwest app as well for doing a quick check and let's you pay credit cards etc
__________________
"I'd like to thank God for making me an atheist"..
monkeyspanker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to monkeyspanker For This Useful Post:
soi 2 (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 06:37 AM   #3
Fork Handles

Super Moderator
 
Fork Handles's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Posts:
8,947
Shouts:
2489
Thanks:
3,211

Rep Power:
Fork Handles is on a distinguished road
Default

Roamer, I tried to transfer money between accounts while I was in PI recently. The software recognised the IP and sent a security code to my mobile phone, which I didn't have with me. Best to let the bank know just to be sure.
__________________
Je suis Forky
Fork Handles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fork Handles For This Useful Post:
soi 2 (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 08:02 AM   #4
roamer

Advanced Member
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
Pattaya
Posts:
5,779
Shouts:
5247
Thanks:
10,141

Rep Power:
roamer is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi mate

With Halifax I`ve never had any problem, I set up my Thai Kasikorn bank account as a payee whilst still in the UK, no problems with transfers.
I did however inform them quite some time ago that I would be spending a lot of time in Thailand.

With Santander, it appears they are able to detect different ISPs, has caused occasional problem,sometimes have to go through extra security.


I`d with Fork, let them know and maybe bring your UK phone ( or SIM) with you in case they need to contact you ?
roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to roamer For This Useful Post:
soi 2 (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 08:04 AM   #5
simie

Advanced Member
 
Join Date:
Jul 2007
Posts:
2,048
Shouts:
56
Thanks:
7,206

Rep Power:
simie is on a distinguished road
Default

Seems to depend on the bank from the previous responses but I've used it a number of times with 2 different accounts when in Thailand and no problem.
Simie.
simie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to simie For This Useful Post:
soi 2 (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 08:25 AM   #6
soi 2

Advanced Member
 
soi 2's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
'Now I in my loom'
Posts:
3,558
Shouts:
11018
Thanks:
4,693

Rep Power:
soi 2 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the replies. I'm with Nationwide, will contact them to beon the safe side.
__________________
rak sanook
soi 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:10 PM   #7
Delaware

Advanced Member
 
Delaware's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
South pattaya
Posts:
1,074
Shouts:
668
Thanks:
1,121

Rep Power:
Delaware is on a distinguished road
Default

I have worked for a bank it will make a difference if they place a note on the system. If you show up on a fraud que the note can be looked at and the notice worked without the need to contact you.

On saying that I have spoken to quite a few persons that had alerted the bank but, had their cards or accounts frozen.

The real answer is yes and no, another way around this would be to download Tor to your laptop and set your IP to the UK.
__________________
Jackpot!!!
Delaware is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Delaware For This Useful Post:
soi 2 (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 03:52 PM   #8
soi 2

Advanced Member
 
soi 2's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
'Now I in my loom'
Posts:
3,558
Shouts:
11018
Thanks:
4,693

Rep Power:
soi 2 is on a distinguished road
Default

OK Del thanks will contact my bank.
__________________
rak sanook
soi 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:55 PM   #9
roamer

Advanced Member
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
Pattaya
Posts:
5,779
Shouts:
5247
Thanks:
10,141

Rep Power:
roamer is on a distinguished road
Default

"download Tor to your laptop and set your IP to the UK."

Is that a proxy server ?

Would it slow down my internet speed ? ( In Thailand, it`s slow enough as it is)


Thanks.
roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:42 PM   #10
soi 2

Advanced Member
 
soi 2's Avatar
 
Join Date:
Dec 2006
Location:
'Now I in my loom'
Posts:
3,558
Shouts:
11018
Thanks:
4,693

Rep Power:
soi 2 is on a distinguished road
Default

Tor is a server that hides your location. I read about it one night. Absolutely fascinating. It's how you get to the 'deep internet' where wiki leaks was originally and can do all sorts of shady untraceable things online. If you google the Tor Project or deep internet it's interesting reading.
__________________
rak sanook
soi 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soi 2 For This Useful Post:
roamer (04-10-2013)
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump