Pattaya-Revealed.com

Pattaya-Revealed.com (http://www.pattaya-revealed.com/index.php)
-   Pattaya Newbies Section (http://www.pattaya-revealed.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Internet banking in Thailand (http://www.pattaya-revealed.com/showthread.php?t=15935)

soi 2 04-08-2013 10:19 PM

Internet banking in Thailand

I've bought a notebook pc and was planning on accessing my main UK bank account when I'm on holiday. I've never done this before and just been having a think. My question is -

Should I contact my bank to let them know I'll be doing this from Thailand ? Will a Thai ISP set the alarm bells going ?

I don't want any security problems that might cause problems with me accessing my cash.

Thanks.

monkeyspanker 04-09-2013 12:26 AM

Never had as any probs from overseas as the setup is secure
I have a natwest app as well for doing a quick check and let's you pay credit cards etc

Fork Handles 04-09-2013 06:37 AM

Roamer, I tried to transfer money between accounts while I was in PI recently. The software recognised the IP and sent a security code to my mobile phone, which I didn't have with me. Best to let the bank know just to be sure.

roamer 04-09-2013 08:02 AM

Hi mate

With Halifax I`ve never had any problem, I set up my Thai Kasikorn bank account as a payee whilst still in the UK, no problems with transfers.
I did however inform them quite some time ago that I would be spending a lot of time in Thailand.

With Santander, it appears they are able to detect different ISPs, has caused occasional problem,sometimes have to go through extra security.

I`d :agree: with Fork, let them know and maybe bring your UK phone ( or SIM) with you in case they need to contact you ?

simie 04-09-2013 08:04 AM

Seems to depend on the bank from the previous responses but I've used it a number of times with 2 different accounts when in Thailand and no problem.
Simie.

soi 2 04-09-2013 08:25 AM