PDA

View Full Version : some simple technical terms

jonny
03-01-2007, 06:09 PM
Someone asked last night if I'd do post some basic technical terms to do with websites and how they work on a simple level. I know there has been a lot of mumbo jumbo being throen about lately so maybe it will help unravel the recent spout of technical rubbish!

I am no expert at all so I will keep it basic.......

webserver:This is a piece of software that sits there and waits for requests from other computers. When it receives a page request it tries to deliver that page to the other computers browser.

apache:This is the most common type of webserver software and it does exactly what is above.

A website is basically a file or collection of files that sit on a webserver. A domain is linked to a particular folder on that webserver. This means that when you type in a domain address, and go to someones website, basically all you are doing is looking at a folder full of files on a webserver somewhere in the world. What happens is.......the files you see in your browser are just files sat on the webserver that are called the name of what is in your browser......e.g. the file for the stats is in the folder on the revealed webspace. The name of the file is called

vbstatextended.php

when you type in www.pattaya-revealed.com/vbstatextended.php

the webserver goes and looks for a file called vbstatextended.php in the main folder in our webserver. As it exists it finds it and send the file back to your browser. If it didn't exist you would get a browser 404 error and it would document not found.

How do you add files and take files off a webserver? There are a couple of ways of doing this, but basically the most common way of accessing your webserver is via ftp access